So Broke!

I’m quickly learning that home ownership is a lot harder on your finances than expected.

Even the most carefully laid out budget falls apart when faced with the first $400+ power bill.  Not to mention unexpected maintenance, water bills, property tax and absolutely anything else you could possibly think of.  At this rate, I anticipate being homeless in 6 months.

My husband and I have separated but are both living in the same house (not by my choice, I assure you).  He’s not paying his share of the bills, so I’m trying to shoulder the responsibility on my own.  If I’m ever actually able to get him to leave, I’ll need to pay the bills alone anyway.  The difference is that I won’t have to pay his as well.

If I get a real life second job right now, I could be forced to pay out spousal support based on that income along with my regular job’s salary.  If I have a little income coming in that’s not really steady, it probably won’t be considered regular income when it comes time to calculate support payments (so I’ve been told).  I don’t think I should have to pay  spousal support to a lazy bum who quit a full time job to sit on the couch and watch TV, but welcome to Canada, where the law protects jerks like that for some reason.  But I digress…

So I’ve been looking at selling off some of my stuff (which hasn’t been going well) and sites that pay out a little money.  Yesterday I found swagbucks, which seems promising.  It’s got a couple things going for it.  It you shop online, use their links and get “swagbucks”, which can be exchanged for cash (or gift cards).  I don’t shop online much, but you can also earn swagbucks through surveys or by printing coupons and using them.  I’ve been on there less than 24 hours and have 94 swagbucks already.  It’s free to join so it doesn’t hurt to have a look right?  Find them HERE.

I’ll bring you other things like this as I find them.  In the meantime I have $3.50 to do me the next 2 weeks, and that’s without paying my credit card (another $700).  I think I’ll do some more surveys…

Leave a comment