Peanut Butter And Jelly Thumbprints

May the Fourth be with you!

All right, now that I got that out of the way…

This is my earliest memory of baking.  I was at a sleepover at a friend’s house and her Mom let us make cookies.  Looking back, it was a very simple recipe.  But for me, it was a big deal.  My mother was very young when she had me and (from my understanding) wasn’t the best cook.  So I wasn’t really allowed to be underfoot in the kitchen.  My friend’s mother stood me at the kitchen table and walked me through the process of making cookies.  I think my friend was actually baking them while I mixed them up.

They may not have been this exact recipe, but they were close to it.  It comes from my Old Fashioned Cookies recipe book.

This is a great one to do with kids.  It doesn’t require a mixer, it’s one bowl, and it’s pretty hard to mess it up.

In a large bowl, combine 1 and 1/2 cups flour, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 teaspoon baking soda and 1/4 teaspoon salt.

thumbprints1

Add 3/4 cup creamy peanut butter and 1/3 cup softened butter, mix until crumbly. Stir in 1/4 cup honey and 1 tablespoon milk.

thumbprints2

Shape into 1 inch balls. Place 2 inches apart on ungreased baking sheets.

thumbprints3

Press thumb into center of each ball and add ½ teaspoon jelly (I actually used homemade jam).

thumbprints4

Bake at 375°F for 8-10 minutes. Let cool on baking sheet 1 minute before transferring to wire racks.

thumbprints5

Make sure these are good and cool before you try and eat them.  The jam stays hot a long time, so it’s really easy to burn yourself.

Leave a comment