Sugar Cream Pie

I’ve been baking, but I haven’t been keeping up with the blog.  Summer is always busy, and with this being my first summer as a homeowner I’m discovering it’s a lot more work than I’m used to.

I wanted to find some lighter food for the summer and thought I’d test out this sugar cream pie recipe from my green edition of Taste of Home magazine (Winter, 2014, Five Star Deserts).  As long as you have a pie crust, this takes ingredients that you should have on hand.  In my case, I had a left over pie crust from something else I was doing, so it wasn’t an issue.

First, cook your pie crust but undercook it a bit, and let it cool.  A store bought one is easy, and I think they’re simple to cook.  Don’t overdo it.  The recipe says to cook until light brown, so about 5-7 minutes.  Mine took quite a bit longer, but I had a thicker crust I think.

In a large saucepan, combine 1 cup sugar and 1/4 cup cornstarch.  Now stir in 2 cups of 2% milk until it’s smooth.

SugarPie01

You’re going to bring this to a boils, then reduce the heat and stir either 2 minutes or until thick and bubbly.  Maybe I did something wrong, but mine took a lot longer.

Take it off the burner and stir in 1/2 cup butter (cut it into cubes first) and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract.

Pour this into the crust.

SugarPie02

Sprinkle the top with about 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon and then bake 15-20 minutes at 450 degrees.  The top should be golden brown.

SugarPie03

Mine was starting to burn in places and was boiling over so I took it out when it looked like the photo above… BUT it was in there a lot longer than 20 minutes.  Closer to 40 in fact.  It didn’t actually burn, but never turned golden brown either.

That could be because I put a cookie sheet under it.  I did this because the foil pie tin wasn’t strong enough for this pie.

Anyway, once you cool it just put it in the fridge to chill before serving.

SugarPie04

I didn’t like this at all.  It tasted more like custard than pie to me, which is something I absolutely despise.  I *think* it actually turned out quite well, but wasn’t something I enjoyed.  I’d love for someone else to test it out and let me know what they think.

Leave a comment